Home

I know Bono gets criticised a lot for his ego and arrogance.

There is even a “joke” cause – “Make Bono’s Ego History” and  anti-Bono T-shirts!

As you know I am a big fan of Bono’s work in helping good causes. I am aware he polarizes people and annoys many – and there was a stage when he annoyed me.

I do however respect the way he uses his celebrity as currency. Sure, Bono does know how to be the centre of attention and how to “be Bono the mega-star”!

I heard a story the other day about the more humble and quieter side of Bono.

I was chatting with an Australian film director and the director could tell I was a U2 fan – probably because of the U2 T-shirt I was wearing!

Anyway, the director tells me how one day he was visiting a friend in hospital (the friend was dying) and in walks Bono. Apparently Bono had “worked with” the friend back in the 80s. U2 were on tour and Bono dropped in to see the friend he hadn’t seen in years.

The director said he was really impressed with Bono’s “low key” and “non-rock star” approach.

“Please call me Paul,” he asked everyone in the room.

Paul asked the dying friend if he could help in any way.

This reminds me of the tales of unknown deeds done by stars like Frank Sinatra and Elvis Presley – things they did not because the wanted attention. They helped because they could.

Some readers may say  – “Big Deal. Bono just did what any ordinary, decent person would do.”

And that’s my point, as well as the mega-star Celebrity Bono – there is also the ordinary, decent person – who likes to be called “Paul”.

One thought on ““Please, call me Paul” – the humble, quieter side of Bono

Leave a Reply

